President Cevallos Elected Chair of AASCU

President Cevallos Elected Chair of AASCU

Jan 3, 2018

Framingham State President F. Javier Cevallos will serve as the Chair of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) Board of Directors in 2019 after being elected by the organization’s nominating committee in December.

AASCU is a higher education association of nearly 420 public colleges, universities and systems whose members share a learning and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions' economic progress and cultural development.

“I am truly honored to be elected as Chair of the AASCU Board of Directors for 2019,” says President Cevallos. “State Colleges and Universities (SCUs) are leading the country’s efforts to maintain college access and upward mobility for students from low-income and unrepresented backgrounds. The support that AASCU provides in these efforts is invaluable.”

President Cevallos has held many leadership roles with AASCU over the years, including two terms on the Board of Directors, and service on the Board’s Executive Committee. He is currently vice chair of the organization’s Committee on Student Success and has mentored future administrators seeking to become college presidents for 12 years through the organization’s Protégée program.

About Framingham State University

Framingham State University was founded in 1839 as the nation’s first public university for the education of teachers. Since that time, it has evolved into a vibrant, comprehensive liberal arts institution offering small, personalized classes on a beautiful New England campus. Today, the University enrolls more than 6,000 students with 58 undergraduate and graduate degree programs in the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences and professional fields. As a State College and University (SCU), Framingham State prides itself on quality academic programs, affordability, and commitment to access for all qualified students.