Softball Finishes Record-Breaking Season with 31 Wins

Softball Finishes Record-Breaking Season with 31 Wins

May 15, 2017

The best season in the history of the Framingham State women’s softball program came to an end over the weekend, when the team lost a heartbreaking 1-0 game to Babson College in the NCAA Tournament.

The team finishes the season with a 31-13 record, shattering the previous record for wins in a season (21). The highlight of the year came in the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) Tournament Championship game, where the team earned a 5-4 walk-off victory over Westfield State University.

The program earned its first-ever NCAA Tournament victory with a 4-2 win over Lesley University, prior to being eliminated by Babson. Four players were named to the All-MASCAC Team: Sophomore Pitcher Kelsi Gunarathne, who was also named MASCAC Pitcher of the Year; freshman outfielder Mycala Moody, who also earned MASCAC Rookie of the year; junior outfielder Dayna Marchant; and senior first baseman Kylie Boyle. Head coach Larry Miller was named the Champion's Choice MASCAC Softball Coach of the Year.

The baseball and women's lacrosse team also enjoyed successful spring seasons. Baseball made it to the MASCAC Tournament Championship game, where they lost a 1-0 nail-biter to Westfield State. Women's Lacrosse won a program-record 12 games and placed five players on the All-MASCAC Team.

About Framingham State University

Framingham State University was founded in 1839 as the nation’s first public university for the education of teachers. Since that time, it has evolved into a vibrant, comprehensive liberal arts institution offering small, personalized classes on a beautiful New England campus. Today, the University enrolls more than 6,000 students with 58 undergraduate and graduate degree programs in the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences and professional fields. As a State College and University (SCU), Framingham State prides itself on quality academic programs, affordability, and commitment to access for all qualified students.